Project Inspire STEM Focus Group

Featured Image: 
Project Inspire Logo and text, "Recruiting STEM Focus Group"

My name is Dr. Tina Herzberg and I am a professor at the University of South Carolina Upstate. I am collaborating with Dr. Rett McBride on a project to learn more about the experiences of 6th-12th students in their science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) classes.  If your child has been using braille for more than 6 years in their math and/or science classes, we would like to invite them to be in a focus group. 

A focus group is when people with similar interests come together to talk about the topic. In this case, the topic is braille codes and instruction. If your child participates, they will be joining 3 to 7 other students for approximately 1 hour. We will meet online using Zoom which is like Skype or Face Time. They will need to have an internet connection and microphone.

What is Project INSPIRE? 

Project INSPIRE is a 5 year training grant to support braille literacy for professionals and students to build their skills and knowledge in the braille codes for STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) courses. 

Who are the researchers? 

  • Dr. Tina Herzberg, University of South Carolina Upstate
  • Dr. L. Penny Rosenblum, American Foundation for the Blind
  • Dr. Rett McBride, Georgia State University, Perimeter College 

What is a focus group and how will the research be run? 

You are invited to participate in a research study at the University of South Carolina Upstate. A focus group is an opportunity for a group of people to come together and talk about a topic, in this case STEM braille materials. The focus group will be held online and last about 1 hour. There will be 4-8 people in the focus group. 

Who is eligible to participate in the focus groups?

  • Students who are in grades 6 to 12 and have been reading braille for more than 6 years  
  • Students must be using braille in math and science classes
  • Students must be comfortable talking in a group setting 

When is the focus group? 

Tuesday, February 23 at 7:00 PM EST / 6:00 PM CST / 5:00 PM MST / 4:00 PM PST 

How can I learn more and sign up my child to participate in a focus group? 

Contact Dr. Tina Herzberg:

See attached Focus Group flier.

 

Visit: Project INSPIRE: Increasing the STEM Potential of Individuals who Read Braille

Use this form to be notified of future Project INSPIRE courses and other activities.